Book Review

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

My Rating: 4 Stars

I absolutely loved this book. As soon as I finished I wanted to start reading it again, and when I found out there’s a movie, I got indecently excited!
Half of the time I wasn’t sure if it was a childrens book or not, but it didn’t matter, because the story is fun and interesting and written in such a way that it really doesn’t matter if it was meant for kids, because adults can love it too… If it is a children’s book though, it’s got a couple of gruesome scenes and everyone is very blase about death…

There’s a lot of adventure and excitement though, and I’m sure I missed a lot of the hints throughout the book. The plot of the story was brilliant and it’s been a while since I’ve been so delighted with a plot twist… everything seems so predictable these days that it’s awesome to find something new.

The only negative I can point out is that it did lack a little something when it comes to making me feel the characters were real, because although I liked Sophie and Howl and Michael and Calcifer, they stayed characters in a story, and didn’t jump out of the page and become real like some of my other favorite characters did. There was very little real emotion, and I guess this is where the saying “Show, don’t tell,” came from, because although we’re told characters feel a certain way, their actions made these emotions fall flat… except when Sophie throws a jealous tantrum and Howl over acts when he’s sick or upset. Howl is a HUGE drama queen…

I still loved the book though and as soon as Goodreads figure out how to do re-reads, it’ll definitely be in my re-read list!

3 thoughts on “Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones”

  1. Ahh, I tried reading this a couple months ago, and I remembered I enjoyed the writing. And, oh my goodness, the movie is great and a total classic! Once you’ve watched it, check out other films made by Hiyao Miyazaki (the animator and director) because they’re masterpieces! Spirited Away is another favorite of mine. And, I recommend watching the subtitled version of the movies (because hearing it in Japanese sounds much more natural than listening to the dubs in my opinion).

    Like

      1. You should! You’ll love the soundtrack as well, all the Joe Hisaishi compositions are brilliant. And, me too, I haven’t watched anime in a long time because of school. I’m actually on spring break, so hopefully I’ll get 1 in.

        Like

Leave a Reply

