Movie Review

Star Trek

Space… the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship enterprise. Her ongoing mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life forms, and new civilisations. To boldly go, where no one has gone before.

I’ve been putting off watching anything to do with this series for the longest time. First it was because I just really wasn’t that into sci-fi, but then when I got more interested in the genre, I heard from so many people that Star Wars was so much better than Star Trek. I watched Star Wars, and honestly I wasn’t that impressed, so obviously I thought that I would just waste my time with Star Trek…

Last Friday I got stoned and decided for some reason to watch Star Trek, which had been sitting on my laptop for ages. From the very beginning of the movie I was hooked. I don’t know how much of my amazement and fascination had to do with being stoned, but OMG, I LOVED everything about it! 

I especially loved how they basically started everything from the beginning, so that someone like me, who has never watched any of the classic series, wouldn’t have to go back to that in order not to miss out on any plot points. I’m still going to try and get my hands on that, but wow, just how ingenious was that? They can pretty much do whatever they want now without having to worry about continuity!

Like I said, I don’t know anything about the classic series, but I haven’t been completely living under a rock, and I think Zachary Quinto was a brilliant choice for Spock, and Chris Pine does a great job of playing the rebellious good guy. I’m struggling with accepting Simon Peg and John Cho as serious non comedic characters, but they’re still great, and I love both their characters.

I watched both the movies in one sitting, and of course, being such a huge nerd as I am I had a slight fangirl attack when Benedict Cumberbatch entered the scene. I find it disturbing that I can identify him by his voice alone and that I’m slowly but surely coming around to everyone else’s opinion that he’s quite good looking… because he’s really not… but then he kind of is…

He did a great job of making Khan relatable, and the mark of a good villain is that they make you feel sorry for them… which you can’t help but feel for Khan. Being a mother, I can understand that you would do anything for your family. I’m not sure I would have gone as far as he did, but yeah, I get it. I’m glad they didn’t kill him, but I feel like they might have set the stage for a return in the future… and I’m sure nobody will complain.

I’m not sure how I’m going to do it, but I can’t wait to get my hands on the originals! Live long and prosper!

Leave a Reply

