Book Review

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

My Rating: 5 Stars

I have a lot of feeling about this book, and it’s difficult for me to look at it without getting a heavy feeling in my chest… but here goes…

I don’t feel like I can really review this book without giving any spoilers away, because it’s difficult to explain why I feel so strongly about the book without telling you what happened to make me feel that way.

Basically it’s about two women who are years apart and end up married to the same man. It’s about the hardships these women have to endure not only under the rule of whichever government or group currently has control of their city, but also under their husband, who is a huge dick. It’s about survival and friendship and hope.

This book did me the honor of showing me a country that I’ve never been to. It painted a picture of a world and a place that I can see clearly in my head and I think Khaled Hosseini is a master for being able to do that. I learned a lot about the history and the culture of this place that I can walk away from this experience with knowledge that I didn’t have before. It shows you another side of the story that you hear in the media, and I love that.

I’m going to leave it at that, because I really am struggling to put the words together to review this book, but I’ve waited almost a month to put a review on my blog and I’m no better off than I was when I first finished it, so I’ll sign off with my original review on Goodreads:

16 April 2015 – “I can’t talk about this book right now… I feel like a rug has been ripped out from under my feet and I’m lying on my back staring up at a blank ceiling pondering my insignificance in life. This is one of those books that completely changes your outlook on something, and I’m kind of wishing that I had stayed in my little bubble of ignorance, because I don’t know what to do with my feelings and knowledge about Afghanistan and what’s going on there…”

P.S. I despise all kinds of conflict. When anyone around me is upset or fighting I have anxiety attacks. I don’t deal well when it comes to conflict. I’m not making excuses, but that’s basically why I knew absolutely nothing about what’s happening in the middle-east. I didn’t even know where the fucking middle-east was until I googled it after reading this book. I knew there was a war somewhere, but I had no idea what it was about or where exactly it was or anything else. I had a vague notion that America was having a war with Iraq because they wanted the country’s oil, but I’m not so sure if that’s even half true… besides the point though.

Leave a Reply

