Uncategorized

Review: White Sand, Volume 1

White Sand, Volume 1
White Sand, Volume 1 by Brandon Sanderson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the first time I got a Graphic Novel from Netgalley, so I don’t know if it’s normal that the quality of the art is this horrible or if it’s just this particular novel. Honestly, the art was so blurry that I had to completely ignored it for most of the book and I just read the story, which was pretty decent and I’d be interested to read the next installment.
This was my very first Brandon Sanderson, and I must say that I quite enjoy the story and the style, although there’s a lot of explanation which I’m not used to in a graphic novel, but which in this case was welcome.
The story of the sand mastrells and Kenton’s part in it is very intriguing and I really want to find out what happens in the future, although (view spoiler).
There were also other story branches – The Duchess from Darkside looking for closure and Ais the Trackt (which I’m assuming is some kind of mercenary) – that didn’t really interest me as much as that of the sand masters and the diem, but which I assume is vital to the story and everything will come together in the end.
I’d say it’s a decent start to a series and if it wasn’t for the bad art I’d probably have rated it much better.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

