Uncategorized

Monthly Wrap-up

Hey guys. I don’t know about you, but March was not a great reading month for me. I spent more time catching up on series and gaming than reading in the beginning of the month, and that kind of threw my reading plans completely out of the window. I still did relatively good though, and I finished 7 books for the month.

The total amount of pages read is 2 625, which is significantly less than I read in January and February, but even so I’m happy with it. I mean I finished Drums of Autumn, which I was dreading just because I couldn’t get my mind around the length! 880 pages is a bit excessive! I listened to Mr. Mercedes on audiobook, which was narrated by Will Patton… you can read my review to hear what I thought of that particular experience…

I didn’t have any 5 Star books this month, which isn’t that strange as I like to reserve my 5 star reviews for special reads that I feel really deserve it. Having said that I’d have to say Drums of Autumn and The Promise Girls were my stand-out reads for the month. Even though the length of her books are insane, Diana Gabaldon just knows how to weave a story! Marie Bostwick is a new-to-me author, and I’m so glad to have discovered her. I actually got my copy of The Promise Girls from Netgalley, so I have them to thank! She’s got a series centered around Quilting that I’m super interested in checking out.

You might notice that there’s a Stephen King up there that didn’t make my top reads. I know… SHOCKER! As I mentioned in my review though, while I’m a huge SK fan, I’m not blind to his faults and Bill Hodges just didn’t do it for me. However! I saw the trailer for the new IT remake and my insides are squirming with excitement! He also has a collaboration with his son, Owen King, being released later this year which I can’t wait to get my hands on!

In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?

In a future so real and near it might be now, something happens when women go to sleep; they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If they are awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed or violated, the women become feral and spectacularly violent; and while they sleep they go to another place… The men of our world are abandoned, left to their increasingly primal devices. One woman, however, the mysterious Evie, is immune to the blessing or curse of the sleeping disease. Is Evie a medical anomaly to be studied? Or is she a demon who must be slain? Set in a small Appalachian town whose primary employer is a women’s prison, Sleeping Beauties is a wildly provocative, gloriously absorbing father/son collaboration between Stephen King and Owen King

I mean come on! That sound like an amazing story! It’s only out in September though, so there’s still a long wait. It is also only coming out in September, so I guess I’ve got that month booked up already.

My Goodreads Challenge is looking good though. I’m 5 books ahead of schedule so far, so if I keep it up, I’m hoping that I can clear another couple of books from my neverending to-read list.

Goodreads Challenge

And that’s it! Here’s to hoping April will be a bit better than this one. I’ve got a couple of Netgalley books that needs reviewing, and I also want to finish the Bill Hodges trilogy. I’ve got a couple of series that I want to read this year though, so I might decide to start another series instead… although I have enough faith in SK to give Hodges another chance to grow on me…

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

