Book Review

Book Review: Three Weeks with a Princess

32560046

Copy provided by the publishers and Netgalley

More like 2 1/2 stars… it wasn’t the worst historical romance I ever read, but it was exceedingly boring. There was hardly any action or plot and information was delivered repetitively in slightly different ways. The character’s reasoning and feelings were rehashed and explained over and over and over again in an attempt to carry a thin plot. Honestly this book could have been cut down in half and the story wouldn’t have suffered.

Another thing that bugged me was the title of the book. It seems to allude to something specific, like three weeks spent with a princess. I kept waiting and waiting and eventually the three weeks thing was mentioned in passing with the stupidest explanation on earth why it was “relevant”. The princess thing was even thinner and even less relevant. She’s the bastard daughter of a prince, so I guess in some backward way she’s a princess, but I don’t buy it. Talk about a misleading title…

I really wanted to like this book, because there was a time when Avon historical romances was all I’d read. I don’t know what changed… maybe I’ve just read so many truly amazing books since I’ve broadened my reading horizons that these kind of frothy romances don’t turn my buttons anymore? Or maybe my tastes have just changed? Or maybe this was just not that great…

Leave a Reply

