Book Review

Book Review: And Then There Were None

16299

Rating: 4 Stars
Date Started: 06/21/2017
Date Finished: 06/25/2017
Pages: 264
Genre: Mystery

Dude! So this is what a real honest to goodness mystery is really like!?

At first, I found it a bit difficult to get into the writing style, and I feared this would turn out to be another “classic” I wouldn’t finish. I persevered though, and pretty soon the writing style was the last thing on my mind!

The story and the mystery more than carried this book along, and the fact that I couldn’t figure it out was driving me barmy! Every time I thought I knew, bam, they’re dead, and the mystery continues. I guess with some of the glaringly obvious mystery novels of today, I never considered what a true mystery would look like. At one point, I was so convinced I knew who it was, that when that person also turned up dead I felt like tearing my hair out!

Of course, after everything is explained (and honestly, without that confession in a bottle I would still be sitting here pulling out my hair trying to figure it out), you realize that it all depends very heavily on some super duper timing and planning that just seems unrealistic. I personally don’t think the killer could have known how people would react or where exactly and when exactly they would be at a certain spot, but I guess you have to leave some room for creative imagination…

It’s been a while since I’ve read such an intriguing mystery, and a good one like this always leaves me wondering about the author’s state of mind. Surely you’ve got to be a little bit off a psychopath to be able to come up with such fantastically mysterious murders!?

Get your copy here: And Then There Were None

See my other stuff here:

Goodreads | Facebook | Pinterest

Leave a Reply

